Walton Deanery

The Church of England

The roots of the Church of England go back to the time of the Roman Empire when a Christian church came into existence in what was then the Roman province of Britain.

The Church of England is organised into two provinces; each led by an archbishop (Canterbury for the Southern Province and York for the Northern). These two provinces cover England, the Isle of Man, the Channel Islands, the Isles of Scilly and even a small part of Wales.

The Diocese of Liverpool

The Diocese of Liverpool serves a wide mix of communities in urban, rural and town parishes with 250 churches stretching from Southport in the North to Widnes in the South, from Liverpool in the West across to Wigan in the East and serving a population of 1.53 million in an area of 389 sq miles.

Liverpool Cathedral

From the very early days of its origins, through to its completion in 1978 after 74 long, hard, but rewarding years, the unfolding story of this great cathedral, the largest in the whole of the UK and the fifth largest in the world, is both fascinating and quite unique. It survived two World Wars, periods of recession and great hardship to becomes central to the heart and the life of the City of Liverpool.

Mission in the Economy

Being alongside those in the work place, our Chaplains are able to report on conditions on the ground. Their valuable insight forms the basis of the expert comment on the economy in the Merseyside Region which MitE provides to the churches, enabling appropriate response and support exactly where it is needed.


‚Äčin the Anglican Diocese of Liverpool